Phase One: The Egg

The butterfly develops through a process called metamorphosis.

This is a Greek word that means to transform or change in shape. I want us to really get that, because the whole focus of this blog is going to be about transformation and spiritual development. The butterfly is an example of an insect that goes through a COMPLETE METAMORPHOSIS. Unlike grasshoppers and other insects where in its baby stage, it looks like a miniature adult, the butterfly looks different in every phase. Let that marinate.

Phase One: The Egg

This phase is self explanatory, right? A butterfly has laid its eggs on the leaves of a plant BUT the butterfly only lays its eggs on a plant that the caterpillar will later eat. (Remember this)

The interesting part about this is that a butterfly lays about 300 eggs and only 1% live. When I think about that, I immediately think "Many are called but few are chosen." The scripture says, "But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God. They are reborn-not with a physical birth resulting from human passion or plan, but a birth that comes from God." We are begotten. God thought about us and gave us the right (at birth) to become children of God and gave us a second set of DNA that can only be activated by him.

Stay tuned for Phase 2: The Caterpillar to dig into why any of this even matters.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

© 2023 by Fashion Diva. Proudly created with